The Promise of Spring

“In the spring, a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love” 20160221_141915

With apologies to Lord Tennyson,  because I am no longer a young man and I’m not sure how my wife would react to thoughts of love, my thoughts tend to drift elsewhere. While it is not yet spring, a beautiful weekend in Northwest Connecticut led to thoughts of Golf.So I decided to take a walk around Green Woods. One, after a recent weigh-in, it was clear that some exercise was needed to eliminate some of the winter fat. A gentle stroll might get my legs ready for a quick nine.

 

20160221_140619_001Second, I thought I might find some golf balls as I walked around. As you can see I did OK. I found 3 or 4 yellow ones to the left of the eighth green, between the fourth tee. Someone please tell Mr. Salamone that they are now in the range bucket, although I did keep a Srxion for myself. Found some Mojos(thanks Gilbert School), a bunch of pinnacles, a noodle(sorry Ace) and a few Pro V1s(kept those too). Kudos to Tom DePaoli, I did not find one Taylor Made.

Third, I wanted to check on the course20160221_132804. As you all know, last year’s winter was a little hard on the course, so far (hope I didn’t jinx it) this has been a pretty good one. There were not very many trees or branches down or any noticeable damage. Most encouragingly, areas that had winter kill last year seem to be growing back. With a little TLC, the fairways will be much improved. The greens looked great.

Anyways, this not so young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of Spring and Golf and the promise of a great year at Green Woods CC.

One thought on “The Promise of Spring

Leave a Reply

